

Department of Anesthesia & Perioperative Medicine
Department of Clinical Neurological Sciences
Division of Neurosurgery
Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry
Western University

THE 2023 AITKEN LECTURE & AITKEN MEMORIAL LECTURE IN NEUROANESTHESIA

Please join us in welcoming guest speaker

Dr. Ivar Mendez

Professor of Neurosurgery and Director of the Virtual Care and Remote Presence Robotics Program, University of Saskatchewan

THE 2023 AITKEN LECTURE

"Brain Repair, Remote Presence Robotics and The Virtual Health Hub: Technologies of the Future"

CNS Grand Rounds
Tuesday, November 7th, 2023
Location: Auditorium A (UH), LHSC
Lecture: 08:00- 09:00 am

THE AITKEN MEMORIAL LECTURE IN NEUROANESTHESIA

"The Virtual Health Hub and Disruptive Technologies for Surgical and Remote Care"

Anesthesia & Perioperative Medicine Grand Rounds

Wednesday, November 8th, 2023 Location: Auditorium A (UH), LHSC Refreshments @ 07:00 am Lecture: 07:15 am

Dr. Ivar Mendez

Dr. Ivar Mendez is Professor Emeritus of Neurosurgery, Director of the Saskatchewan Virtual Health Hub and Director of the Virtual Care and Remote Presence Robotics Program at the University of Saskatchewan.

Dr. Mendez received his MD and PhD in Anatomy from the University of Western Ontario, where he also completed his post-graduate training in Neurosurgery. He was awarded the the William P. Van Wagenen Research Fellowship by the American Association of Neurological Surgeons. His research Fellowship was done at the Department of Medical Cell Research, University of Lund, Sweden. From 2000 to 2012, Dr. Mendez was the Chairman and Founding Member of the Halifax Brain Repair Centre. Dr. Mendez was the Head of the Division of Neurosurgery at Dalhousie University and the QEII Health Sciences Centre for more than a decade. He was the the Fred H. Wigmore Professor and Provincial Head of Surgery for Saskatchewan from 2013-2022.

As a Clinician/Scientist, Dr. Mendez' research focus is on functional neurosurgery, brain repair, virtual care, and remote presence robotics. His laboratory research has been supported by peer-reviewed funding from several sources including the Canada National Centers of Excellence, Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Canada Foundation for Innovation and Parkinson's Disease Foundation of USA. He is recognized internationally as an expert in his field, having over 400 international and national presentations as well as over 200 scientific publications. For the past decade he has worked in the use of remote-presence robots for medical care in neurosurgery and primary care. In 2002, Dr. Mendez and his team performed the first long distance telementoring neurosurgery in the world and in 2013, he reported the first experience in remote programming for neuromodulation devices. Dr. Mendez was the President of the Canadian Neuromodulation Society (CNS) from 2009 -2012 and under his leadership he promoted the access of neuromodulation therapy for all citizens of Canada.

Dr. Mendez has focused on, and significantly advanced, the use of remote-presence robots for primary health care in remote populations. In 2010, his team established the first remote presence robotic program in the Canadian North to provide access to primary and specialized medical care to underserviced First Nations communities. Since 2013, he has been working with First Nation communities in Saskatchewan using advanced robotic technology for healthcare delivery. In 2019, Dr. Mendez's team deployed a novel telerobotic ultrasonography system to three northern Saskatchewan communities. This technology was crucial in providing prenatal sonography to indigenous communities during the COVID pandemic.

For his innovative work in the use of remote presence devices to deliver health care to underserviced populations, Dr. Mendez received the 2011 Health Canada Award. In 2022, he was appointed an Officer of Canada for his pioneering work in the use of remote telemedicine and robotics to revolutionize the delivery of health and patient care in Canada and worldwide. In 2023, he has received the Order of Canada to recogonize his contributions to the Improvement of the Health of Canadians.

Dr. Mendez is also a gifted photographer and sculptor. Please visit his work at: https://www.ivarmendezart.com/

This event is an accredited group learning activity (Category 1 credit - 1 hour) as defined by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada Maintenance Certification Program.

THE 2023 AITKEN LECTURE &

AITKEN MEMORIAL LECTURE IN NEUROANESTHESIA

HISTORY

The Aitken name is closely associated with the development of anesthesia as a specialty in London. Ron's father, Dr. George W.A. Aitken, was a general practitioner and one of the first physicians in London to limit his practice to anesthesia (1924-58). Ron Aitken graduated from Western in 1943. His junior internship at St. Michael's Hospital in Toronto was devoted to anesthesia, and after he was commissioned to the RCAMC (May 1944), he had various postings in Canada as an Anesthetist. On discharge, he became the first official resident in Anesthesia at Victoria Hospital (1947-48). In 1949, after a final year's residency in Vancouver under Dr. Digby Leigh, he was appointed to the teaching staff at Victoria Hospital. In 1950, Ron married his fellow resident, Dr. Elizabeth Johnson of Winnipeg. Both served as exemplary models to the medical community in London until retirement in 1983. Ron worked closely with Dr. Charles Drake while Dr. Drake was developing his revolutionary surgical approaches to difficult intracranial aneurysms. Ron provided the neuroanesthetic techniques, especially induced hypotension, that made this difficult surgery possible and that established neuroanesthesia as a specialty at Western.

During his 30 years of practice in London, Ron Aitken was highly esteemed as a superb clinician and clinical teacher and as a pioneer of clinical neuroanesthesia. The Aitken Lecture was established to highlight developments in the science and practice of neuroanesthesia.

AITKEN MEMORIAL LECTURE IN NEUROANESTHESIA

1986	Jens Astrup
1987	William Fitch
1988	Antoine Hakim
1989	James Cottrell
1990	Robert L. Grubb, Jr.
1991	David S. Warner
1992	Ronald R. Tasker
1993	William L. Lanier, Jr.
1994	Robert L. Martuza
1995	Arthur M. Lam
1996	Ludwig M. Auer
1997	John Drummond
1998	Graham M. Teasdale
1999	Per-Olog Grände
2000	Claudia S. Robertson
2001	Henry J.M. Barnett
2002	A. Leland Albright
2003	William L. Young
2004	G. Bryan Young
2006	Garnette Sutherland
2007	Michael M. Todd
2010	Adrian W. Gelb
2011	Andres M. Lozano
2012	M. Shazam Hussain
2013	Beverley Orser
2014	Jeanne Teitelbaum
2015	Pirjo Manninen
2017	Kim Burchiel
2018	Ansgar Brambrink